Auf Wiedersehen, Berlin. Bis zum nächsten Mal.

Goodbye, Berlin. Until next time.

So, I write this as I sit in the Tegel airport, watch the rain, and wait to board the plane. This trip was beyond my expectations, and it has only increased my longing to come back here again and spend more time in the beautiful city of Berlin. I hope everyone enjoyed my postings and pictures, and I hope to continue the blog or start a new one to continue documenting my interesting adventures.

***I will be creating a new page on my blog in the next few days, and it will contain a whole bunch of new pictures that I couldn’t post on the main page of posts. If you would like to check out the extra pics, just keep checking back and I hope to create the page and upload them by this weekend.***

Apparently when I went through the security in the Tegel airport, my bra wire, pants buttons and Birkenstock buckles all set off the metal detector, so I got some “special attention” by one of the woman security guards. Nothing too serious, I simply got patted down and waved with the detector wand until she was convinced I was harmless. That doesn’t really make me look forward to the custums check in Newark airport…

I will probably post again by this weekend with my extra pictures page, but thanks again for virtually following me on my trip to Berlin!

PS: Here is a review of my last couple days with pictures, since I was too tired to post it last night…

On Sunday night, Emily, Vince and I joined Stine at her apartment to go out for dinner and take some awesome night pictures. We ate at a great Italian restaurant by her place, and then walked around the area until we ended up in a skate park/hangout that was filled with young people and graffiti. The art all over the abandoned train yard turned skate park was beautiful, and it was a pity that the city is considering tearing it down to build more apartments.

The art graffiti on the walls of the skate park are truly fantastic.

The art graffiti on the walls of the skate park are truly fantastic.

 

A piece of art lines the whole wall of one of the buildings.

A piece of art lines the whole wall of one of the buildings.

We began witht he intent to take some interesting night time pictures for the course, but soon the night turned into a photography experiment and lots of fun. The park had an area where there was red and green lights, and that combined with Vince’s tripod looked like a great opportunity to take fun and weird pictures. Emily and I are still waiting for Vince to send them to us, but I will post the pictures when I get them. Essentially, we used the tripod and a long shutter speed to take eerie and ghostly pictures of us standing around in the red light.

On Monday, I spent most of the day working on my project in SoundSlides, so I didn’t really get a chance to post pictures. The whole group went to Delores for dinner, which was the first mexican restaurant I saw in Berlin, and it resembled our Moe’s (except that it was MUCH better). Then I returned again to spend the rest of the night finishing my project.

On Tuesday, a group pf eight of us left for a six hour tour of the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp. It was breathtaking and thought-provoking. I’ll leave the pictures to evoke the feelings I felt while being there. It began to rain while we went on the tour, and the rolling rain clouds only added to the heavy atmosphere of the day.

 

Our tour guide shows us a layout of the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp.

Our tour guide shows us a layout of the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp.

 

Memorials sit in a row where barracks used to stand.

Memorials sit in a row where barracks used to stand.

A guard tower in the distance appears eerie in the rainy atmosphere.

A guard tower in the distance appears eerie in the rainy atmosphere.

A plant is caught in the barbed wire along one of the bordering walls.

A plant is caught in the barbed wire along one of the bordering walls.

The view from one of the infirmary rooms.

The view from one of the infirmary rooms.

Roses are left on an autopsy table in the infirmary.

Roses are left on an autopsy table in the infirmary.

A coffin drop connects the outside world to the basement of the infirmary.

A coffin drop connects the outside world to the basement of the infirmary.

At night, we headed to the TV Tower in Alexanderplatz to eat dinner high above the city of Berlin. We even caught sight of a rainbow that reached over the city of Berlin! It was a great experience, even if the food sucked (except for the cream of asparagus soup) and our waitress was terribly rude.

Me and the view of Berlin at 203 meters high.

Me and the view of Berlin at 203 meters high.

 

A rainbow made the night above the city even more beautiful.

A rainbow made the night above the city even more beautiful.

As for Wednesday, I finished my gift shopping and we headed for an early dinner to a Biergarten on the Muggelsee ( a beautiful lake). I finally had goulash soup and a side of potatoes and saurkraut! Emily and I headed back to the hotel after to edit pictures and pack for our departure.

And so I’m here, in the airport, about to board and fly back to America. It was a great experience, but I’m happy to come home. I look forward to planning my next trip to Europe – with a definite stop in Berlin.

~ by friedlichewelt on May 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
