All work and some play…

I’ve been so busy with my project, I haven’t really had time to post any new pictures on my blog! So here’s a recap of the past few days:

On Friday, I went with Emily to meet up with Stine (our wonderful German friend) so that she could bring us to a Children’s Farm that Emily would use for her project. We got a chance to meet Stine at her apartment, which was a cute and comfortable flat in the middle of Friedrichshain, a well-known party district.

Stine's apartment is amazingly decorated.

Stine's apartment is amazingly decorated.

Along the way to the Children’s Farm, I was able to capture some interesting images of Berliner locals and their daily activities. I just love how everyone is laid back and never seems to be in a rush to anywhere.

A woman waters her plants on a sunny Friday afternoon.

A woman waters her plants on a sunny Friday afternoon.

 

A couple walks down a quiet street near the Children's Farm.

A couple walks down a quiet street near the Children's Farm.

When we arrived at the Children’s Farm, I was in awe: not only was it a place where children can be introduced to and play with farm animals, it was also a playground where kids can build and create their own environment. There were tools around for them to “work on” wooden playhouses and other great outside obstacles.

A young boy, Nino, uses a small saw to work on one of the playhouses.

A young boy, Nino, uses a small saw to work on one of the playhouses.

 

A little girl walks from one treehouse to another.

A little girl walks from one treehouse to another.

There were sandboxes and soccer nets, all mixed in with a petting zoo filled with goats, sheep and many other farm animals. It was such a contrast to American children’s vodeogame entertainment. A boy named Nino even invited me up into the playhouse to have a better view of the farm. They also served a healthy vegetarian lunch to all those who spent time in the farm.

A couple kiss while sitting on a bench in the Children's Farm.

A couple kiss while sitting on a bench in the Children's Farm.

 

Here is one of the many adorable and friendly goats that live at the farm.

Here is one of the many adorable and friendly goats that live at the farm.

After Emily had secured her contact at the Children’s Farm, we left to go back to the hotel so that I could get ready to take pictures of my contact during the bookstore’s weekly Friday night dinner. It was a fun experience to hang out at the bookstore among English and German speakers while everyone enjoyed a feast of food and alcohol. No one seemed to mind that I lurked around with my camera to capture my subject, Sophia, and her nightly routine of cooking, serving and socializing. By 11pm, Emily and I headed back to the hotel after a long day of working on our projects.

On Saturday, I spent most of the day at Another Country bookstore again, following around Sophia while she cleaned up the aftermath of the previous night’s festivities. I had some great conversations with her about many different things, and I told her if I do come back to Berlin in the future (and I’m sure I will now that I’ve fallen in love with the city), I will be sure st stop by Another Country. I spent the rest of Saturday night working on my audio and editing my pictures so that I could make sure I had everything I needed to be able to start creating my SoundSlides project.

Today, Sunday, Emily and I went by the Tiergarten market to check out some vendors and get some gifts. The atmosphere was lively and there were many people crowding around the small booths. Before we knew it, we had been browsing for over three hours. Later tonight, a few of us are meeting up with Stine by her apartment and we will hopefully take some awesome nighttime pictures of the Friedrichshain area. Supposedly some things are lit up at night, and it makes for some interesting pictures. I will hopefully post some of those pictures tomorrow if they turn out well.

Tomorrow I will mostly be in the hotel lobby finishing my project all day, so that some of us can go on a tour of the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp on Tuesday (which is when our project is due). Thanks for being patient with my blog postings!

Bis dann! (Until then!)

~ by friedlichewelt on May 24, 2009.

One Response to “All work and some play…”

  1. What an incredible park!!! I’m always fascinated by parks for children – they vary region to region in the states (Colorado vs. Florida) and now I have an example of country to country too!
    Elizabeth (Lisa’s mama friend)

Leave a Reply

 
