Sightseeing is always best on a bike…

On Tuesday we finally got to do our bike tour around Berlin with Blakley from Fat Tire Bike Tour. I had a wonderful time, and Berlin is the perfect place to bike around as a tourist, or even simply for transportation.

Mike Blakley, our guide for the bike tour, explains a bit of Berlin history as we stop by the former Berlin Wall.

Mike Blakley, our guide for the bike tour, explains a bit of Berlin history as we stop by the remaining strip of the Berlin Wall.

We spent a lot of time at the East Side Gallery, which is a long expanse of the Berlin wall that was left standing to display beautiful art that has been created by many different artists after the wall fell. Unfortunately, much of the art has been tagged over with graffiti and messages declaring “I was here,”, but there is currently a project underway to invite all of the artists back to repaint their art for the 20th anniversary of the fall of the wall this November.

Here I am posing in front of the remaining Berlin Wall in my bike, which was named Angie Merkel. Photo by Vince DelMonte.

Here I am posing in front of the remaining Berlin Wall on my bike, which was named Angie Merkel. Photo by Vince DelMonte.

 

This piece of art depicts East Berliners flooding through the wall in 1989.

This piece of art depicts East Berliners flooding through the wall in 1989.

We biked through Kreuzberg, which is a Turkish disctrict with a large immigrant population, and it was very interesting to see the different types of people that live in Berlin.

Pedestrians walk by in Kreuzberg, a predominantly Turkish district, during our bike tour.

Pedestrians walk by in Kreuzberg, a predominantly Turkish district, during our bike tour.

 

Visitors eat ice cream at the foot of a former East Berlin guard tower.

Visitors eat ice cream at the foot of a former East Berlin guard tower.

We then headed to the Treptower Park and Soviet Memorial, which was absolutely breathtaking. I’m not sure what I loved more: the gorgeous layout of bright green trees, or the massive monuments that stood as a memorial to the fallen Russian soldiers during World War II. As I walked through the park, I could imagine spending countless hours here, reading and relaxing in the quiet memorial.

A woman bikes through Treptower Park.

A woman bikes through Treptower Park.

After the bike tour ended, we all headed back to the hotel to get ready for our night at the Friedrichstadtpalast, a beautiful theater where we were going to see the show Qi. (If you click on Friedrichstadtpalast, you can see a short preview clip of the show we saw). It was a fantastic show filled with illusions, ice-skating, singing and insanely talented dancers. I feel that it was by far better than Cirque du Soleil!

Here we are on the steps of the Friedrichstadtpalast before the show Qi.

Here we are on the steps of the Friedrichstadtpalast before the show Qi.

On Wednesday, I left with a few of the other girls to check out Garage, the largest second-hand clothing store in Europe. It was pretty neat, and I picked up some new sunglasses and two re-usable bags that have interesting German print on them. We then ate at a really interesting vegetarian restaurant called Morgenrot (Morning Red), which had amazing hummus. 

Passengers wait for the U-Bahn to begin moving towards its next stop.

Passengers wait for the U-Bahn to begin moving towards its next stop.

As for today, I finally got to adventure off through the U-Bahn and S-Bahn system on my own, and I was quite successful. Despite the reduced transportation (today is the Germany’s Father’s Day), I was able to find my way around quite easily without looking like too much of a tourist.

I attempted to begin my photo project on an interesting subject that is involved with human rights issues, but I was unable to find him at the planned meet-up spot in Kreuzberg. Therefore, I will be leaving shortly to find a different subject for my project, hopefully at a specialty bookstore called Another Country, that features english books and nightly events for english-speakers.

Until tomorrow, tchüss! (See ya!)

~ by friedlichewelt on May 21, 2009.

4 Responses to “Sightseeing is always best on a bike…”

  1. Michelle, great job with the photos and the blog! Looks like you’re having a great time, girly. Love your dress for the theater, you hippy! 🙂 Good luck on your project; sucks the original idea didn’t work out but I know you excel at pulling great ideas outta your…you-know-where! And WHAT??? You went to the largest secondhand clothing shop in *Europe* and all you got were sunglasses and BAGS???! I’m gonna faint… 😉 Totally jealous too! Love ya!

    • Thanks so much! It’s been difficult yet fun to update my blog every night, and I’m happy everyone’s enjoying it. Haha, thanks, I just got the dress and I love it too. Yes, I was able to switch my subject around for my project, and now I am doing the owner of a really interesting english bookstore. I know, I just couldn’t really find anything in my size, and my suitcase is already brimming over, haha. Well, I’m really glad you like the pictures! See you soon 🙂

  2. Michelle, Shari just sent me your blog. A truly wonderful way to share your experience. You have a keen eye for pictures and a wonderful talent for relating ypur experiences and feelings. Enjoy,good luck on your project.

  3. I love all the pics of the art you are posting! Thank you!
    Elizabeth (Lisa’s mama friend)

Leave a Reply

 
